I took care of myself

and it wasn’t beautiful, or an act of grace.

I took care of myself, and looked at the long overdue slew

of text messages and missed calls in the face,

even though it hurt.

even though I knew my hurt was hurting you.

I took care of myself,

ugly cried through my therapy appointment;

kept it, didn’t cancel it,

made another for the following week.

I took care of myself,

and dug the hurt out from my bones,

piled it before me,

and began to make my amends.

I apologized to the friends

and the family

I had pushed aside,

determined to not let my storm become theirs.

I apologized to myself for thinking I had to weather the rain alone.

I took care of myself,

and it wasn’t bubble baths,

and the row of my favorite Oreos each night.

It wasn’t beautiful;

it was uncomfortable,

and painful in more ways than one.

It wasn’t beautiful

but, I know that I am,

and that has made it all worth it.